We rethought the job role & you ain’t got ‘it’

So set the scene, applied for the job, aced the phone interview, aced the first interview, aced the test and second interview and then you casually look on the company website and notice a new role, but it isn’t a new role it’s the role you applied for with a different title. So you wait and you wait and you wait and hear nothing having to email the company to get a response.

“Hope you are well, just wondering if anyone was going to get back to me about the outcome of my second interview.” I ask.

12 minutes later this is the response I get, partly paraphrased. “I thought you had received an update already” Wow are you for real? If I would have had an update then I wouldn’t have to email you to get an update.

“We have had to revisit and change the required duties of our vacancy.” Could you have not have done that before you advertised the role?

“This unfortunately means that your experience is no longer suitable.” No s–t Sherlock, tell me something I hadn’t gauged on my own accord.

“We require someone with lots of experience.” Code for we found someone better and it wasn’t you.

“We are also taking away the some of the role originally advertised.” Actually a lie, as the role was identical bar the job title, did they think I was stupid enough not to check it?

“May I take this opportunity to thank you very much for your application and we wish you the best of luck with your job search.” I think I’ve read that same line on every automated rejection email I’ve ever received. You think they would have found a more creative way of saying ‘yeah we aren’t going to employ you so good luck in finding someone who will!’

Ah well, can’t say there was any love loss. Apart from the swish office, great location, free breakfast and lunch and the half day Friday, OK some love loss! However, I’m glad I don’t need to see the receptionist again, pretty, tall, blonde but girl would it kill you to smile? You’d think the first face of a company you see would be a bit warmer. They must have to go to receptionist school to learn how to be a bi—h.

One thought on “We rethought the job role & you ain’t got ‘it’

Leave a comment